Helloworld Travel Volleyroos name team for World Cup

Australian men’s volleyball coach Mark Lebedew has named his 14 player squad for the World Cup which takes in Japan from 1 to 15 October.

There are three changes to the side that won the silver medal at the Asian Championships in Tehran.

Curtis Stockton replaces Tom Edgar as one of the Opposites, Travis Passier comes in for Beau Graham as a Middle Blocker, and Ben Bell returns as one of the three setters, in place of Nick Buttler.

In a further change, women’s Volleyroos head coach, Martin Collins, is joining Mark Lebedew as an assistant coach with the men’s team.

The World Cup is seen as vital preparation for the men’s Volleyroos ahead of the Continental Qualification Tournament in January. The qualification tournament features the top eight teams from the Asian Championships vying for one final place in the program for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

Australia will play Egypt in their opening game of the World Cup on 1 October.

The Australian men’s Volleyroos team for the World Cup comprises the following:


  • Arash Dosanjh Setter
  • Ben Bell Setter
  • Lincoln Williams Opposite
  • Curtis Stockton Opposite
  • Sam Walker Passer/Hitter
  • Max Staples Passer/Hitter
  • Paul Sanderson Passer/Hitter
  • Jordan Richards Passer/Hitter
  • Luke Smith Passer/Hitter
  • Nehemiah Mote Middle Blocker
  • Trent O’Dea Middle Blocker
  • James Weir Middle Blocker
  • Travis Passier Middle Blocker
  • Luke Perry Libero


  • Mark Lebedew Head Coach
  • Martin Collins Assistant Coach
  • Andre Borgeaud Assistant Coach and Statistician
  • Hugh Nguyen Statistician
  • Giorgio Poetto Team Manager
  • Julia Allan Physiotherapist

Schedule for the Australian World Cup matches 

In Nagano   AEST
1 October v Egypt 12 p.m.
2October v Brazil 7 p.m.
4 October v Russia 3 p.m.
5 October v Iran 6 p.m.
6 October v Canada 7 p.m.
In Hiroshima   AEDT
9 October v Japan 8.20 p.m.
10 October v Italy 4 p.m.
11 October v Poland 1.30 p.m.
13 October v USA 3 p.m.
14 October v Tunisia 6 p.m.
15 October v Argentina 7 p.m.