Australian Volleyball Referee Commission

The Australian Volleyball Referees Commission (AVRC) is a commission of Volleyball Australia charged with the responsibility of overseeing referee education and development. Its members include all Australian referees who have International or National accreditation, but is administered by an elected Executive.

Current Executive members:

Chairman - Dean Turner
Volleyball Delegate - Liz PollockBeach Volleyball Delegate - Stephen Giugni

Aims & Structure of the AVRC

In performing its role the AVRC adheres to the Commission Statement endorsed by the VA Board setting out the AVRC's aims and structure. AVRC Commission Statement

Sub-Committeess of the AVRC

The AVRC currently has two standing sub-committees - the State Representatives Committee (SRC) and the Technical Committee (TC). The duty statement of each sub-committee is below:
State Representatives Committee Duty Statement
Technical Committee Duty Statement

AVRC Membership

All referees with International or National accreditation are required to be members of the AVRC. Membership is on a calendar year basis. The membership fee is $30 and enables the AVRC to perform its functions (outlined in the AVRC Commission Statement). Membership also entitles referees to receive per diems associated with refereeing at national events, be included on the annual Active National Referee Return to the FIVB (referees must be included in the return for at least 3 of the past 5 years to be eligible to attend an FIVB International Referee Candidate Course) and be eligible to accompany Australian teams overseas to international Volleyball tournaments as the Australian representative referee. Also, in any year when a member's accreditation to the NOAS expires renewal is paid on their behalf from their membership fee (permitted that membership has been paid in that year).

AVRC Membership Forms

AVRC Membership Form - Volleyball
AVRC Membership Form - Beach Volleyball

(Please note: Referees who hold an accreditation in both disciplines are required to pay only one membership fee, but it is requested that both forms be submitted.)

Mail membership renewal to the VA office for processing:
Volleyball Australia
PO Box 176
Belconnen ACT 2617